Personal Storms!

“Do we wonder if Jesus cares if we drown? When we are forced with a crash of change, do we maintain faith? Who hides the storm in their lives? You’re in the storm for his purposes.”- Pastor R.

These questions were very powerful for me. “Do I ever wonder if Jesus cares if I drown?” That one I can answer confidently, no, I always have trust and faith that he will keep me safe, that their is a purpose for what crosses my path in life. I know he won’t let me drown, if I drown in my turmoils, that is on me, that would be me rejecting him.

“When we are forced with a crash of change, do we maintain faith?” Do I maintain faith when my life appears to be crashing, when my world seems to be turned upside down, or even just hitting lots of pot holes along the road? Yes, I feel that I do. I may feel hurt, sadness, anger, betrayal, devastation, but I am always thankful that I know I have support to get through any situation that comes my way. At this point in my life I can say yes; I hope I can always say yes. 

“Who hides the storm in their lives?” My hand shot up in response to this faster than I anticipated. It was a spontaneous response, with no attempt to hold back my answer to that one. I thought, I for sure hide the storms in my life. Right now the storm is huge, and for the most part I put on a good face, continue with each day and my life goes on. After a few minutes something stuck out to me “You are in the storm with his presence!”- Pastor R. I love moments in life when I have the ah ha moments, when I feel enlightened because I realize or learn something new about myself. It is a very reassuring and calming feeling. This was one of them, I intially was struggling with the fact that I hide my storms, but at this moment I realized, maybe for a brief period I hide my storms, or maybe just to some people, but really for the most part I realized I am not hiding my storms, I am in them with his presence, his presence is still radiating through me. He is guiding me, keeping me strong, comforting me. Sometimes when people know I am going through a lot, like recently, I get looks that kind of ask “if you’re in a storm, why are you smiling, why do you look okay?”  I know that often people may be confused by my optimism, my ability to push through, to keep smiling and going forward. I also know it can be hard to describe, I mean I really can’t describe it, but in spite of things that happen, I still find myself feeling at peace, all because God is by my side. He not only provides me with his comfort, he has provided me with amazing friendships for support, a community of support and my faith that he is shaping me for the next twist in my path. 

“You’re in the storm for his purposes!” That next twist in my path, that next crash of change, sudden uproot of everyhing I know, they all have purposes. I may not always know in that moment what it is, but I can look back at my life and I can say that of the different bumps I have hit along the way, they have all had a direct influence on who I’ve become and where I have currently landed. I am realizing even now how amazing God is that he can guide us in a way and put us where he wants us. I chose a Bachelors degree in Pyschology for many reasons, one being that it is very vague. I have many different interests and I wanted many doors open to me. When I graduated I began job searching and I’ll be honest, there were some very appealing things about the job I accepted, that I knew I wanted to do. But other things came with the job that would have not been my first thought of a career or where I would belong. Looking back at my life and the situations and experiences I have had, all give me many strengths for my career. For the career that God clearly led me to, I have weathered my storms for his purpose and I am confident that I am continuing to live his purpose.
One final question we pondered which I think is one people often find themselves asking, is “did he cause the storm or allow it?” My only response to this is…. Does it matter? We grow from it, it is for his purposes!

 

Leave a Reply

