#myoneword

Kicking off the New Year my church focused its first service on resolutions. At one point in my life I thought resolutions were dumb, why wait until the new year to change, if I can’t change without a significant date what would make it any different to declare on New Year’s Eve. I have enjoyed the New Year’s festivities more the past few years and have also jumped in with resolutions. This year they were pretty simple and easy to manage; maintain my healthy eating and fitness that I have been consistently doing for 10 months and tackle credit card debt. Both I know for certain will happen. The one that will be challenging is my one word that I am commiting to, to reflect through and grow my relationship with God….

Radiate!!

“Words create movement!” “Change is possible, but focus is required.” Both quotes I cannot take credit for. Both quotes were strongly emphasized during service last week. Then I was asked “how do I really want to be?” That for me was not hard, I know how I really want to be…. Always put together, happy, energetic to tackle working full time while being a mother of three boys, fit, healthy, super social, to have time for my friends, I would have a pefect home, always clean with ample time to play with my kids.  Yup, that is easy.   Oh my goodness I wish that was easy, of course it is not easy; but sometimes it is an easy face to put on to hide all the stress and tears that come with the feelings of failure or doubt when it does not all come together. Most days basically. 

But, how do I make it possible to be “how I really want to be?” God, faith in God, love for God, his love for me, prayer, forgiveness, lots of forgiveness, trust, hope…. These things I know are necessary, they are things I have. I was asked though to come up with just one word that will get me from where my relationship is with God and where I want it to be. My one word, “radiate” was instant, I knew what my word was, since the first service I attended at this church I now call home that has been my word. That first service I attended it was proposed to change the church name to reflect radiating the word and love of God to the community, it hit home, exactly what I had been looking for. No questions asked, I was drawn in. But now I am thinking of what that word will mean for me throughout 2017. It means that I am asking and praying that God will radiate his love through me, use me, to reach others, my children, husband, friends, the community. That my actions, words, thoughts and feelings will Radiate God’s love and that my faith in him will Radiate to him. 

Already, one week in and I noticed that by service this morning I was ready for the reminder to “radiate” in all of my actions, thoughts and words. I have thought about it a lot this week, but I am still on holiday and not back to crazy, busy life yet. I am sure I will need reminded more often. I know reminding myself that “words create movement” and “change is possible, but focus is required” will be keys to improving my relationship with God. While I am focusing on my one word, I know it will take more than just kowing what my word is for it to make a difference. I already have a new Journal Bible in my Amazon cart ready for sermon notes that will arive 48 hours after I click submit, I have coffee with a wonderful friend each Monday that most often turns into reflections of our lives and actions which seems to most often lead to Bible discussions and now I am commiting to reflecting on sermons throughout the week here. 

Already, I am many steps ahead of where I was this time last year when I felt an emptiness as I spent the holidays not attending church, I didnt have a church that felt at home. I managed without church to keep my relationship with God alive, in fact I think it was stronger than it had been for a while; which, is why I am so amazed now. I thought I was doing great even without attending church, oh my goodness…. with this new home I have found, I am amazed, I am radiating and I am feeling at peace, but at the same time so anxious to keep growing and radiating my relationship with God in all of my actions. I have also challenged my children to work on this along with me, they found their “one words” I think quite easy and I was very proud. All of them were able to think of words that they can focus on that reflect areas they know they can improve in. Seriously, such a proud moment, their words are “calm, love, kind.” This will be an ongoing challenge and one that I am ready to tackle throughout 2017. 

Leave a Reply

